Impact of Media in Sports

Social media has changed so much throughout the years in sports. In my book, social media is seen as such a good thing with no bad things or strings attached. They would crowd the gym the practice after a victory, and just a great environment to be in. This article is giving the pros and cons of social media in sports. Social media is very helpful to me and I love to use to learn more about football and basketball. This is where I find all of my news, player updates, and more. I also get to build a connection with the player because using social media allows me to learn more about the person then who he is just on the field or court. For example, when I watch a player that has came back from battling health issues, even if they’re not on the Pats, I root for them and feel good for the. I was watching the Titans game in week 2 this season and I saw there o-lineman catch a touchdown and when I found out he was out the last season or two battling health problems, it was inspiring to me to see that he overcame it. From a players perspective, this social media is a nice way to make a connection with the fans and maybe increase their fan base and make themselves more noticeable and popular, which could lead to an increase in jersey sales. I follow a ton of athletes on Instagram and see what they do off the field and that gives me a better idea who they are as a person. On the other hand of all this, social media can be very bad for athletes. I haven’t heard of anything bad so far in my book with the media, but nowadays the media is hurting a lot of athletes. It is in the players contracts that they have to speak with the media and the media can interpret what the players say however they want. I have seen this come up a lot how the media only captures and reports some of what the athlete says, and the athlete doesn’t have a say. Also, some players make bad decisions and will say something that they will never say again, like if they are mad about something. This ends up going out for the whole world to see and can’t take it down. Like one case recently with the Antonio Brown situation where he tweeted and said bad things about the Raiders organization , Robert Kraft, Shannon Sharpe, and Ben Roethlisberger. This gave him a bad reputation and this has happened to other athlete where they have gained bad reputations from the media. Overall, I think that social media is a good thing for both fans and athletes. http://thesportdigest.com/2018/11/the-impact-of-social-media-in-sports/

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started